The Metro FM full list of nominees is here

nathi mankayi fdbq music

Nathi, DJ Naves and Sphectacula lead the nominations race with five nods at this year Metro FM Music Awards

It’s been a massive year for breakout star Nathi Mankayi and the Metro FM Music Awards nominations seem to echo this. For his first ever Metro FM Awards, the “Nomvula” belter is one of three of the only acts this year with five nominations including Best Male Album and Song of the Year. DJs Sphectacula and NavesĀ also bagged five nods for their nominations in, among others, the Song of the Year and Best Collaboration categories.

Watch the video for Nathi’s smash-hit ballad, Nomvula

Following closely with four nominations, newcomer Emtee is up for Best Remix and Best Hip Hop album among others.

Metro FM Music Awards winners will each take home R100 000 – read the full story

It was announced that this year, each winner would walk away with R100 000 cash in addition to their trophy.

Scope the full list of nominations below.

Best Duo/Group Album

Durbanyts – Believe

Deep XCape – Pandora’s Box

Sphectacula & DJ Naves – Kings Of The Weekend (KOTW)

Junior Taurus – Cotton Candy

MiCasa – Home Sweet Home

Best African Pop Album

Nathi – Buyelekhaya

Zahara – Country Girl

Zonke – Work of Heart

Maleh- You Make My Heart Go

Kabomo – Sekusile

Best Compilation Album

DJ Fresh – Fresh House Flavour Volv8

DJ Kanunu – Soul Meditation 2

Various Artists – It’s not a party without us

999 Music – Summer Ya Di Summer

Best Female Album

Maleh – Feels So Good

Zonke – Reach It

Zahara – Country Girl

Thiwe – Soul Therapy

Fifi Cooper – 20Fifi

Best Urban Jazz Album

Benjamin Japhta – Home Coming

Judith – One Word

Mimi Dhlamini –

Nduduzo Makhathini –

Nomfundo Xaluva – From Now On

Best RnB Single

Zonke – Reach It

Nathi – Nomvula

Maleh – Feels So Good

CiCi – Runaway

Vincent Bones – My Lady

Best Urban Gospel Album

Ntokozo Mbambo –

Andile Ka Majola –

Malusj Mbomazi – Ngisize Nkosi

Ayanda Ntazi – Udumo

Worship House – True Worship 2015

Best Collaboration

Sphectacula & DJ Naves featuring Professor – King Of The Weekend Anthem (KOTWA)

Heavy K featuring Professor and Mpumi – Moya

major league –

Aka – Baddest

DJ Slique – iLife

Best Kwaito Album

Big Nuz – For The Fans

Durbanutz – Believe

DJ Bongz – Game changer

Kabelo – Immortal Vol 3

Best Hit Single

Aka – baddest

L-Tido – Dlala Ka Yona

Kwesta – Nomayini

Witness The Funk – Nomusa

Shekhinah – Back to the beach

Best New Artist



Riky Rick

Prince Kaybee

Fifi Cooper

Best Dance Album

Sphectacula & DJ Naves – Kings Of The Weekend (KOTW)

Black Coffee – Pieces of Me

Prince Kaybee – Better Day

Mobi Dixon – Tribal Soul

Heavy K – Respect The Drumboss

Best Hip Hop Album

Cassper Nyovest – Refiloe

Riky Rick – Refiloe

Emtee – Avery

Fifi Cooper – 20FIFI

Zakwe – Impande

Best Male Album

Nathi – Buyelekhaya

Black Coffee – Pieces of Me

Cassper Nyovest – Refiloe

Prince Kaybee – Better Days

Riky Rick – Family Values

Best Music Video

Da Les – Paid

Donald – What Goes Around

Emtee – Roll Up

Sphectacula & DJ Naves – Kings Of The Weekend Anthem (KOTWA)

Tumi – Visa

Best Remix

Kelly Khumalo – Asine

DJ Slique – DLID

Emtee – Roll Up Re Up

Tresor – Never Let Me Go

AKA – Baddest

African Category

Burma Boy


Partoranking – Woman my everything

The Marvins – Dorobucci

Reekado Banks – Katapot

Song Of The Year

Black Cofeee – We Dance Again

Nathi – Nomvula

Sphectacula & DJ Naves featuring Professor – Kings Of The Weekend Anthem

Durbanyts – Shumaya

Heavy K – Umoya

DJ Ganyani – Talk To Me

Prince Kaybee – Wajellwa

Riky Rick – Boss Zonke

Shimza – Akulalwa

Prince Kaybee – Better Days

Well, what do you think?