Metro FM Awards 2013


Durban came alive last night as one of the biggest stations in the land put on its dazzling annual awards show. Well, maybe not so annual considering there was no show last year. Producers attribute this due to the fact that the ceremony arrived too early in its former November date for festive hits to be nominated. Well, thank the Pope it was sorted out in 2013.


The show was arguably the most anticipated Metro FM Music Awards (MMA) in its 13 year history (depending on whether you count the 2012 hiatus or not) and the brand did not let its audience down. Minnie Dlamini and the station’s William Lehong held it down with the glittering stars out on the statement black carpet. However, the ever gorgeous and glamorous Azania Ndoro was tasked to co-host the show alongside the charming and dapper Robert Marawa who together kept the MMA 2013 boat afloat with class and chutzpah.


One of the events most highly anticipated performances was that of Durban natives, Toya Delazy and Idols 2012 winner Khaya Mthetwa’s medley. A stunning and sentimental performance as Delazy’s grandfather, Honourable Chief Mangosuthu Buthelezi, was seated front row, cheering his granddaughter on. Sentimentality seemed to be the order of the night when police commissioner Bheki Cele rose to his feet as local music legend, Chico Twala, dedicated his rightly deserved lifetime achievement award to the ANC.


The big winner of the night wasn’t Donald as was expected by the hype but rather Professor. Professor walked away with Best Kwaito Album as well as Best Male Album. Zonke took home Female Album and The Muffinz were honoured as the Best Group. But Donald had nothing to fret about as he was honoured with two wins out of his six nominations for Best Produced Album and Best Styled Artist/Group.

In case you missed it, check out the full list of winners down here:

African Pop Album: Berita – Conquering Spirit

Compilation Album: Kalawa Jazmee 2012 – Pre Release

Produced Album: Donald – Train of Love

Dance Album: DJ Pepsi – Royal House

Female Album: Zonke – Ina Ethe

Group Album: The Muffinz – Have You Heard?

Song of the Year: Oskido – Tsa Mandebele

Hit Single: AKA – Jealousy

Hip Hop Album: Zakwe – Zakwe

Contemporary Jazz Album: Mbuso Khoza – Zilindile

Kwaito Album: Professor – The Orientation

Male Album: Professor – The Orientation

Newcomer : Khaya Mthethwa – For You

R&B Album: Bryce Anderson – Ready for the World

Styled Artist/Group: Donald – Train of Love

Collaboration of the Year: Khuli Chana – Tswa Daar

Music Video: Jullian Gomes – Love Song 28

Urban Gospel Album: Solly Mahlangu – Mwamba Mwamba

Digital Download: Arthur Mafokate – Hlokoloza

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sello “Chico” Twala


One comment Add yours

Well, what do you think?